State Frequency Coordinators and AASHTO Committee Coordination

Role of State Frequency Coordinators:  State Frequency Coordinators have a familiarity with local radio frequency use in their state. As frequency allocation requests are submitted, trained coordinators work with customers to find the best frequencies to recommend for allocation and licensing. 

Technical Committee Expertise: AASHTO works closely with members of its Special Committee on Wireless Communications Technology (SCOWCT) to facilitate the exchange of information, best practices, and lessons learned regarding Land Mobile Radio technologies and operations among those who manage radio frequency use for transportation agencies. AASHTO utilizes the SCOWCT member contacts to coordinate with those who manage frequency use and have local knowledge that is useful when performing frequency allocation and licensing services.

State Frequency Coordinators (October 2017): 

Robert Hugi
Technical Coordinator/State Frequency Coordinator
Idaho Transportation Department
RHugi@imd.idaho.gov
208-288-4007

Roy Esteven
Communications Engineer
Louisiana DOTD
Roy.Esteven@LA.GOV
225-379-2527

George Carbonell
Consultant
RMF Consulting
RMF.Consulting@comcast.net
860-568-0492


George Stevens
Sentior Information System Support Specialist Radio
State of Maine Office of Information Technology Radio Operations
George.Stevens@maine.gov
207-624-9999

Phil Lazarus
Assistant Division Chief - Engineering and Tech Support
Maryland DOT
PLazarus@sha.state.md.us
410-455-8330

David Chase
Communications Supervisor
New Hampshire DOT
David.Chase@dot.nh.gov
603-227-0018

Bob Terry
Radio/Wireless Engineer
New York State DOT
Bob.Terry@dot.ny.gov
518-457-1584

Bob Steckler
Telecommunications Manager
North Dakota DOT
rsteckler@nd.gov
701-328-6935

Paul Gilbert
State Radio Coordinator - Radio and Technology Support
Texas DOT
Paul.Gilbert@txdot.gov
512-468-0792


Kevin L. Speakman
Manager - Wireless Systems Section

TDOT Traffic Operations Division
Kevin.Speakman@TN.gov
615-350-3430